Sunshine on Winter Journeys

Yuki Negishi piano

NIELSEN - Rhapsody Overture
GRIEG - Piano Concerto in A minor
DVOŘÁK - Symphony No.9, ‘From the New World’

Welcome to our opening concert of the season. We are delighted to welcome back our dear friend and Blűthner sponsored pianist, Yuki Negishi. Yuki will be performing Edvard Grieg’s enduringly popular piano concerto. The tumultuous opening is one of the most famous in the repertoire and the work has been a mainstay ever since it was premièred in 1869. To follow this we will be performing Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No.9, ‘From the New World’, which is possibly one of the most popular symphonies of all time. Do not miss. We open the concert with Carl Nielsen’s Rhapsody Overture, ‘An Imaginary Journey to the Faroe Islands’. The work was written in 1927 evoking a sea crossing from Denmark to a celebration in the Faroe Islands and uses motifs from Faroese ballads. Join us for this wonderful music, sure to warm you on a cold November night.

Kindly Sponsored by Broadland Properties Ltd

Next Concert:

Shaun Matthew
Anthony Mason
Follow us
on Facebook
Scarborough Symphony Orchestra is a Registered Charity: Charity Number 1125060.
Concert Venue: Methodist Central Hall, Queen Street, Scarborough, YO11 1HQ