Gallic Flair

Christina Waldock cello

DEBUSSY - Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune
HONEGGER - Cello Concerto
FRANCK - Symphony in D minor

Our final concert of the season opens with Debussy’s Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune. Completed in 1894, the composition is one of the most important milestones in classical music. It is hugely popular both with audiences and flautists, with its alluring flute solos and evocative orchestration. We are delighted to welcome local musician, Christina Waldock to perform Arthur Honegger’s Cello Concerto. Composed in 1929, the work contains many simple phrases combined with light humour and jazz references. We close our season with a perennial orchestral favourite, César Franck’s Symphony in D minor. Premièred on February 17th, 1889 at the Société des Concerts du Conservatoire led by Jules Garcin, the symphony gained huge acclaim from the outset, and was regularly performed during the 20th century. Full of wonderful melodies and motifs that return throughout the symphony, this work will lift your spirits on a warm summer’s evening.


Shaun Matthew
Anthony Mason
Follow us
on Facebook
Scarborough Symphony Orchestra is a Registered Charity: Charity Number 1125060.
Concert Venue: Methodist Central Hall, Queen Street, Scarborough, YO11 1HQ