To Tell a Story!

Lara James saxophone

Tchaikovsky - Marche Slave Op.31
Martin Romberg - The Tales of Taliesin (UK première)
Ravel - Ma Mère L’Oye
Tchaikovsky - The Sleeping Beauty Suite

Music and stories have always been inextricably linked. Tonight
we invoke those spirits by looking at three orchestral favourites
and a UK première. We are very proud to be introducing the music
of the Norwegian composer Martin Romberg to the UK. We
welcome the internationally respected soloist, Lara James, to
perform Romberg’s symphonic poem for alto saxophone and
large orchestra, The Tales of Taliesen. The work is based on the
poems of the renowned Brythonic poet, Taliesin. Maurice Ravel
composed Ma Mère L’Oye as a suite of five pieces for piano duet.
Ravel then orchestrated the suite and it is one of his most
exquisite creations. We open and close our concert with two of
Tchaikovsky’s most popular works: Marche Slave and Sleeping
Beauty. We will perform the popular suite from Sleeping Beauty,
which contains the wonderful melodies that we all love.


Shaun Matthew
Anthony Mason
Follow us
on Facebook
Scarborough Symphony Orchestra is a Registered Charity: Charity Number 1125060.
Concert Venue: Methodist Central Hall, Queen Street, Scarborough, YO11 1HQ